top of page
London 2023
Windsor Castle
Edinburgh Castle
Ireland 2022
France 2022
Scotland
Palace of the Holyrood, Scotland
Spain tour
Switzerland tour
England tour
Normandy 2022
England tour
Stonehenge tour
Seville, Spain tour
Scandanavia tour
Italian lakes tour
Scotland tour
Ireland 2022
England tour
England tour
London tour
New Year in Barcelona
Southwest England tour
Scotland tour
Italy tour
Scotland tour
Scotland tour
Wales tour
England tour
Scotland ancestry tour
England tour
England tour
England tour
England tour
Scotland tour
Scotland tour
Lake District tour
Scotland tour
Scotland tour
Military remembrance tour
England tour
London tour
Customer Reviews
Just a few photos from our wonderful customers. References from our customers are available on request.
Click on the main image to see each photo in a slide show. 

Scotland - September 2023

We have had a wonderful time! The food and hotels that you picked out for us were great! I want to take a moment to let you know about Barry. He is absolutely excellent in his driving skills and has a tremendous depth of historical knowledge. He kept us well informed during our journey of the many places we passed by  I highly recommend him for anyone of your tours in Scotland. 

Kyle P., Arizona

Italian Lakes & Switzerland - September 2023

Hugh, thank you from Geri Bonnie and myself for planning and taking us on a wonderful tour. It’s hard to say which part of the tour we enjoyed the most but every day, whether it was Milan, the Italian lake country or Lucerne was special. We also appreciated the special attention you gave to Geri which made it a memorable experience for her as well as ourselves.

Douglas and Bonnie P., Canada

 

Scotland - September, 2023

Hi Hugh, Second day here. Everyone loves everything. Great guide, Cameron. Great hotel. Kudos to you!

Carolyn S., Vermont

 

Wales - August 2023

In early August of 2023 we went on a 10-day tour of Wales with Hugh Barnes of Wanderlust.  We had told Hugh what towns, scenic areas, castles, and stately homes we wanted to see some months ahead, and he seamlessly planned the trip!  If there were any places which were not as worthy to fit into our time, he let us know.  He also chose wonderful hotels for us to stay in, two of them large manor houses with gorgeous views, converted into hotels.  The rooms were spacious and comfortable.  The breakfasts and dinners were included, and the food was outstanding!...Hugh made sure to book two 3-day stays during the trip, so we could relax a bit while still moving around to see all that we wanted to see. Hugh was unfailingly on time and in a good mood.  He found out when there were blocks in the route, and would work out another way around.  Hugh has a good personality and was very easy to be with.  He is a great problem solver!  We had forgotten a raincoat at the previous hotel, and he arranged to have it sent to the next hotel, and took us to a nice outfitters store to purchase another one to use in the meantime.  He scheduled a guide for us for a walking tour of St. David’s, Tenby, and Pembroke Castle.  Most of the other castles and stately homes were either self-guided tours or had people stationed to answer questions about the rooms.  One of Hugh’s invaluable skills was somehow to plan the day so that you were entertained but not too overwhelmed, and he was able to pace the activities and schedule different types of places to see during the day so that the scenery and castles were varied.  The beauty of a private tour, of course, was that we could do the activities we enjoy the most. The Mercedes van was very comfortable...We were so thankful to have Hugh to plan our trip and drive us.  He took the anxiety out of planning, trying to find our way— especially driving on the left!— and scheduling, really all of the hard parts of any trip, and we could relax and enjoy Wales.  We are planning another trip with Hugh next summer, this time to southwest Ireland, and we very much look forward to his expertise in planning, finding wonderful hotels, and taking us through another beautiful country.  

Elinor and Tom J., Georgia

Scotland & Ireland - July 2023

Hugh, it is not possible to thank you enough for all of the wonderful plans you prepared for me and my traveling companions in Scotland and Ireland.  From the very first moment, we felt we were in special hands.  Our drivers, guides, accommodations, meals and excursions were exceptionally well-planned. Your attention to detail is amazing. Bless you and your staff for making our vacation a once-in-a-lifetime adventure.

Frances E., Arizona

England & Scotland - July 2023

I wanted to reach out and thank you for putting together such a wonderful trip to England and Scotland for us! I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Nick did a great job carting us around. The local guides were top notch - Richard, Daniel, Linda, and Mike each added such value to our time.  We especially appreciated having them just to chat about similarities and differences between our countries.  I now can't imagine visiting anywhere without someone like them. Being that I normally plan our vacations and keep track of everything during them, I loved not having to do any of that - it was just as much a vacation for me as the rest of the family. You really took care of every detail for us and I'm so very grateful. Thanks again and I hope we can do another trip with you.

Jocelyn, D., Illinois

 

Ireland & Scotland - July 2023

Hugh! We all decided that our holiday was so wonderful because of you!  Thank you for all  the great planning, fabulous restaurants, hotel choices, sightseeing, guides….I could go on and on! It was a truly memorable time. If you are ever in Colorado, you must come by for a visit!  

Mary B., Colorado

 

Ireland - July 2023

I wanted to give you some feedback on our drivers. They were ALL terrific and we couldn't have asked for better and more friendly and knowledgeable guys! I'll have one of my clients (Melanie) contact you and Saralynn over the coming weeks to set-up an Ireland Tour for she and her mother. Thank you for another great trip!

Kevin B., Tennesse

 

Ireland - July 2023

The trip went really well and the itinerary, accommodations and restaurants were very good. Lorraine was excellent and she and my wife were quickly chatting like old friends. Will definitely consider using you in future. In fact we are eyeing a Northern Italy/Switzerland trip - so if you have any information on that we would be interested.

Watson C., Texas

South West England - June 2023

First off, the itinerary you created for us was wonderful. The hotels/accommodations were excellent. While they were all different and quite unique on their own, the common features were very comfortable accommodation, excellent service from all involved and wonderful food.  We found that each hotel had its own personality. Our two tour guides, Daniel and Lorna, were exceptionally knowledgeable, funny, full of great stories and anecdotes and a pleasure to be around. The structure of the tour was indeed excellent. Nick was exceptional. He added so much to our tour. He was always knowledgeable, witty and constantly searched out extra information to enhance our visits to various sites. He also knew when to gives us our own space when we needed it. We thoroughly enjoyed his company and it was quite emotional for Anne and me when we said goodbye. I would give Nick 6 out of 5 stars and have him host our next private tour adventure with Wanderlust Private Tours. So thank you for making our 50th Wedding Anniversary Tour such a wonderful experience. We created some amazing memories!
Neil C,, Canada 

 

Ireland - May 2023

We were very happy with our guide, John. He has a great combination of characteristics that made our trip really nice. He has a great dry sense of humor, and is very laid back. He was great at giving us options and letting us decide what things we were most interested in. There were some things on your itinerary that we skipped, either due to weather or the fact that we were interested in something else more and couldn’t fit it all in.  John was also very good at knowing when to step back and let us tour something by ourselves or when to be a bit more involved.  We are also very happy with the hotel selections. They were beyond our expectations.  Thanks again for organizing this great trip for us. We are very happy we got to see so much of Ireland in such a relaxed way. 

Marla and Brian F., Washington 

 

England - May 2023

Our experience with Neil was excellent. He contacted me days before departure. He was there when we arrived at the airport and he became our driver/friend thereafter.  The Mercedes van was a comfortable ride for our party of six. We connected with Neil on a number of personal levels and he has become an honorary member of the family.  He will forever be part of the story. Our guides in London (Richard), Bath (Daniel) and Liverpool (Annmarie) were all passionate and terrific.  Annemarie made the Liverpool experience a dream come true for my Beatle loving wife, the details of which are a long story.

Anthony D., New Jersey

Scotland - May 2023

Good Evening Hugh. The trip was fabulous!  Nick was great!  

Cecilia H., Florida

 

South West England - April 2023

Leon and I just want to thank you again for the amazing trip of a lifetime. It all met and exceeded our expectations. It was an extreme pleasure to spend two weeks with you!

Georgia and Leon A., Florida

 

England & Ireland - April 2023

First of all, I must thank you for putting together such an amazing vacation for my family!  We saw and did so much I have to look at the itinerary to know what we did when!!  I must tell you that the driver/guides, although very different from each other, were wonderful.  Neil was very solicitous of all our needs, a great driver, and lots of fun to be with.  He is truly an asset to your company.  John was also wonderful.  Lots of fun, gave us lots of information as we drove, and best of all found the thatched cottage in Pallasgreen!  Also an asset to you company.  Both of these men get our warmest appreciation and highest accolades.  The guides in Windsor and London, Bath, Liverpool and Dublin were all extremely knowledgeable ...The different sights in England were very interesting.  Everyone, even those that beforehand said not a big deal, was in awe of Stonehenge. Liverpool and the Beatles tour was great!  Ireland was so beautiful!!!!!! The landscape, scenery is amazing:  Cliffs of Moher, beaches, farmland, mountains, etc.  We really loved our time in Ireland.  Dublin was great.  The food in Ireland was really delicious from the hotel food to lunches in pubs!  A great experience was the Hawk walk along the beach in Dingle...The sheepherding demonstration was also very good.  I think the family agrees that the most amazing aspect of the vacation was the visit to the thatched cottage in Pallasgreen, ancestral home of my son's.  We spent time with cousins we have never met...I could go on and on about this vacation...Again I can't thank you enough for putting this together.

Melanie K., New York

Scotland & England - May 2023

We just returned from the trip of a lifetime, made possible by the incredible planning of Wanderlust Private Tours and Hugh Barnes. Once we settled on traveling with this company, we were able to relax and enjoy our upcoming travels, not worrying about where to stay, how to get there, etc. Hugh was quick to answer any questions we had and work with us on a personalized itinerary. 
Upon arrival to each leg of our trip to the UK, we were met by the most courteous guides who were incredibly knowledgeable about the history and particulars of their specific area. The hotels and inns selected by Hugh were all top notch, as were the dining experiences at each venue and in every locale of our travels. One of us experienced some significant health difficulties during our stay, and each of the tour guides accommodated these physical limitations with exceptional kindness and thoughtfulness. Because of them, we did not miss a thing we wanted to see and felt that our trip was highly successful.
We cannot recommend Wanderlust enough and will definitely seek to use them for future travels!

Mark & Alison Kirkpatrick - Texas

 

England & Scotland - April 2023

From April 1 to April 19, 2023, the three of us were treated to an incredible travel experience to England and Scotland provided by Wanderlust Private Tours. We three have traveled together for years, usually planning our own itineraries, destinations and transportation and have only used travel help in areas where it was absolutely necessary to take an organized tour. All that changed with Wanderlust!

In looking for new options to avoid the hassles of driving and finding appropriate

accommodations in both city and rural locations, we were fortunate to discover the Wanderlust website. In visiting with Hugh Barnes about where and what we wanted to visit, he arranged everything, down to the last detail, with great hotels and B&Bs, transportation in a spacious and comfortable vehicle, expert driving and worlds of information about the places visited. In addition, our local guides were fantastic and the restaurants superb. We so appreciated the flexibility in working around weather issues, personal interests and hobbies, and changes of plans and times. The trip far exceeded our expectations. In summary, we felt that our travel with Wanderlust was a good value and provided experiences and sights that we could never have found on our own. We look forward to future trips with Wanderlust Private Tours.

John and Beverly W. and Cherri G. - Oklahoma & North Carolina

Scotland - September 2022

I wanted to send you a note to tell you what a wonderful tour we had through Scotland.  The Wanderlust attention to detail was not lost on us. From the restaurants, to the arranged dinners and our accommodations, we felt pampered from day one. We were fortunate to have Neil as our driver and tour guide. He was accommodating and friendly while still making sure we saw Scotland in all its glory.

We will be happy to recommend Wanderlust to friends and family and hope to take another one of your tours in the future. Thanks for taking such good care if us!

Deb, Jo, Cher and Trish - Canada

Scotland - September 2022

Writing to thank you for organizing such an incredible trip to Scotland!  Not only is it a beautiful country with views at every turn, the people are so friendly, helpful and fun to be with!  Our guide Neil was “the best” and kept the McCousins on track, on time (that was a feat in itself) and having fun and laughter along the way! The accommodation and restaurant choices were great. I also have to mention that our trip was happening at the same time as the Queen’s passing and this will always make our trip to Scotland most memorable. Thanks again Hugh!

Joanne L - Canada

Scotland - August 2022

Short recap is that this trip more than met expectations, all of our guides were so good, knowledgeable ,pleasant  and informative.The Drivers were just outstanding at their jobs, they went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect and comfortable , providing water and whatever was needed, all of the attractions that we went to see our drivers got us in without any confusion or line ups . The Accommodations were superior and all of the meals provided were excellent. I have told everyone that Wanderlust provides an exceptional and seamless experience , no hiccups or drama or hidden costs , everything went as planned and was truly amazing with the Horse Drawn Carriage rides and the ferries, the trip was certainly worth the Expense.

Lynn B., - Canada

 

England & Scotland - August 2022

Just a brief note to thank you and Margaux for another wonderful tour with Wanderlust. Our August 2022 visit to England and Scotland was well organized and paced. Appreciate the care you took dealing with Trisha’s mobility issues. The local guides for the Cambridge, York, St Andrews and Edinburgh were all excellent. Your accommodation and restaurant choices continue to show the high standards you have when selecting venues. Travel is particularly challenging these days, given over crowded airports and staffing shortages everywhere. I continue to be amazed at the way you calmly deal with logistics issues. This trip, our third with you, just reinforced again that Wanderlust is the only way to go for private touring. 

Peter and Trisha P., - Pennsylvania

London, Cotswolds & Bath - July 2022

Hugh gave our family a superlative vacation experience. My family and I wanted to give my 82 year old mother a trip of a lifetime to England which included London, Stratford Upon Avon, touring castles and gardens in the Cotswolds, Bath, and many other spectacular places. Hugh faced many challenges; Mother had a daunting dream checklist, yet she could hardly walk. No problem for Hugh. Hugh packed a comfortable wheelchair in his minivan to use in our excursions, and he prearranged our tours to accommodate wheelchair access. Because of Hugh’s preparations, we never felt like we missed anything as a result of our limited mobility.   Hugh always went the extra mile...whether it regarded drop-offs in front of museums, or meals and drinks in the middle of busy days.  At one point, Hugh arranged entrance into Buckingham Palace through the front gate, where myriad tourists mistook mother for a foreign dignitary. Hugh used guides that were equally warm and professional, and of the highest caliber.  We will use him again in the future and we are truly indebted to him for our unforgettable vacation.  I cannot recommend him more highly.  

Roland S., - Virginia

London & Southeast England - June 2022

We had a wonderful and informative tour thanks to your planning and over delivering in June.  Beyond the castles and restaurants were the rides through the country seeing the golden barley on one side and the lavender in bloom on the other side of the narrow roads.  It was beautiful !

Thanks for a most memorable eight days.

Terry and Oliver C., North Carolina

France - May 2022

Hugh worked tirelessly to put together a schedule for our trip to France that was so impressive that our French friends wanted to join us on the trip when they read what Hugh had planned for us! Hugh goes above and beyond to ensure your trip has a wonderful combination of exquisite luxury with unique, once-in-a-lifetime experiences, all at your own pace of choice. He definitely listens to the needs of his clients – he selected the most knowledgeable guide for our “reliving history” time in Normandy that made our time there truly come alive with his stories, sharing of local WWII artifacts and genuine passion for the area.  I have taken several private tours and I can say the attention to detail and top quality accommodations, guides, and pleasant surprises at top sightseeing venues made our trip to France extremely memorable.  I highly recommend you consider working with Hugh and Wonderlust tours whenever you can – you will not regret it!

Peter H., Florida

Ireland & Scotland - May 2022

Our trip with Wanderlust Private Tours was more spectacular than we could have imagined. The owner and staff were extremely knowledgable, the itinerary was flexible, and we could set our own pace and tempo for each day. The historic lodges and inns all featured first-class amenities, the vehicles were clean and comfortable and the scenic locations were superb. Wanderlust was responsive to every request of ours and made our bucket list trip, which included a wedding vow renewal ceremony coordinated by Wanderlust, a fantastic memory for us. We highly recommend them!
Stuart and Sandy V.H., Idaho

 

Scotland & England - May 2022

On a whim, I performed a Google search for private tours of Scotland and soon discovered a website describing exactly what we were looking for - Wanderlust Private Tours. The description of sample tours sounded as if they were planned specifically for our group! The reviews spoke volumes, encouraging me to reach out for more information!
  From our first email correspondence, Hugh was professional, helpful and incredibly prompt in his replies. He took our interests and requests and built a phenomenal  custom itinerary for our trip!  This included some high level negotiating with hotels in order to make the timing work for ending the trip with the Platinum Jubilee celebrations in London. 
   At long last, we began what would truly be the trip of a lifetime. Every aspect of the trip was effortless on our part- our guides/drivers drove us directly to the sites to be visited each day, and all arrangements made. All of our accommodations met and exceeded our expectations. The majority of our meals were included in the tour. Unlike with many tours, the included meals were not limited to a limited selection from the full menu, we were allowed to choose appetizers, soup/salads, entree and desserts from the full menus!
  Our guide Cam in Edinburgh; Hugh, himself for remainder of Scotland; and Michaela in London, were all very knowledgeable about the tour stops and all along the route. They each went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and that all our expectations were met. As an example of such, Michaela secured lawn chairs for our group as well as arranged for boxed breakfasts be prepared by our hotel, and then accompanied me at 3:00 am on the morning of the Trouping of the Coulor parade in London to secure an  optimum vantage point along the parade route. 
  We truly cannot adequately verbalize how pleased we were with Wanderlust Private Tours. We without any reservation recommend Hugh and his team to anyone planning the trip of a lifetime!
Jon and Judi G., Fort Worth, TX

Ireland & Scotland - May 2022

Wanderlust Private Tours put together a 2 week tour of Ireland and Scotland for a group of 10 of us, to celebrate my 40th birthday.  Hugh did an amazing job putting together an active schedule that allowed us to see and learn more of Ireland and Scotland than we even imagined. We loved every bit of our time in these 2 beautiful countries.  Mick was our tour guide and driver in Ireland. Mick did an excellent job getting us to our destinations, explaining each location and its history, as well as adding a few extra stops that were highly appreciated.  In Scotland, Cam was our guide.  Cam is extremely entertaining and knowledgeable.  Cam went well above and beyond to make our trip fun and memorable, as well as providing the musical entertainment on my birthday.  We would recommend Hugh for anyone looking for a detailed, memorable and enjoyable trip – he was incredibly easy to work with, provided timely communications and tailored the trip as requested, leaving us with lifetime memories.  Working with Hugh took the stress out of planning this trip ourselves, including wonderful accommodations, restaurant recommendations, activities, transportation, and of course our much appreciated tour guides.  Thank you Wanderlust!

Jessica Y., North Carolina

 

Ireland — March 2022 

Without question, this was a remarkable trip. First, thank you for your consistant, timely and thorough correspondence preparing us for the trip. We really appreciated your thoughtfulness...as for the itinerary, we loved it all...I could go on and on and bore you with tons of pictures and stories. But, simply, Hugh, we can’t thank you enough.

The Ryans - Illinois

 

Spain at Christmas & New Year, December 2021

In the past few years, I have taken several private luxury tours all over the world and I must admit that Wanderlust is one of the best!!  Hugh does an excellent job in really listening to your needs and accommodating all of them so you and your family can have an amazing experience. The level of attention to detail and the amount of communication is outstanding -- Hugh is always two or three steps ahead of you which provides a great amount of comfort, especially traveling during Covid.  We originally booked our trips prior to Covid and Hugh provided a tremendous amount of support in rescheduling them. From the hotels to specific requests on tours to buying tickets to the opera to finding the best restaurants, Hugh goes above and beyond expectations.  Our 11 days in Spain were superb and we're looking forward to our trips to France and the UK later this year. If you are a very discerning traveler and want to really enjoy and relax on vacation, have Hugh plan your trip. He truly is there for you every step of the way!

Michele H., Florida

Ireland, October 2021

We had a wonderful time in Ireland. John was terrific, knowledgeable and had great patience with this old guy. Ireland is a truly beautiful place, with friendly people, great food and we were lucky to have great weather. The horse back ride for Britton was a dream come true. For me the experience at the Falconry was most memorable. I, of course, have many photos and plan to put some of them on paper in watercolors...Again, you arranged everything that we hoped to see and more…just the best. Thank you and cheers!

Karl B., Chardon, OH

Milan, Italian Lakes & Switzerland, September 2021

Thank you for the great photos! We certainly enjoyed our trip with you and Margaux and continued on to Piedmont to reengage our wine travelling friends...Much thanks and happy travels!

Michael & Irene P., Westtown, PA

Milan, Italian Lakes & Switzerland, September 2021

A truly memorable trip! Wanderlust is such an apt name for this very unique travel service. If you have a desire to travel with ease where every detail is taken care of, we highly recommend Wanderlust. Hugh Barnes worked out a wonderful itinerary with our input and from the moment he met us at the airport, we were in his very capable hands for the entire time. And thus, we were able to “wander” our way effortlessly through Milan and the Northern Italian Lake region and then into Switzerland. On the days we traveled to sites by ferry, water taxi, train etc…Hugh was right there to take care of everything.It was the trip of a life time with high end, outstanding lodging and fabulous tours. We were a small group of five siblings and cousins in Hugh’s comfortable vehicle where wonderful conversations and laughter were part of every journey. After “wandering” with Hugh and his lovely wife Margaux, we feel that Wanderlust Tours is the only way to travel. The attention to detail and the very personal service is second to none. You will never travel any other way again!

Bill and Mary W., Rome, NY

Ireland, September 2021

We are home and want you to know how much we appreciate what you did.  The trip was perfect from start to finish. The locations and accommodations were amazing. Our driver, Michael,  was great and we miss him already. Erin was thrilled with her riding time and visit to the Irish National Stud Farm. Thank you again!

Berry and Erin R., Rutherfordton, NC

 

Milan, Italian Lakes & Switzerland, September 2021

Our second trip with Wanderlust Private Tours, nine great days in Milan, the Italian Lakes, Lucerne and Zurich, reinforced your Firm’s high standards of quality and service. The choices for hotels and restaurants were excellent, demonstrating the great care you take in screening and selecting them. The scenery was beautiful and somehow you managed to arrange great weather. We really enjoyed the several days we got to spend time with your Wife Margaux. Now we understand how you can handle all the back office administrative tasks when you are on the road. You guys make a great team! Appreciate you accommodating our request to visit Fortress Furigen. Know it was a challenge to find the place, but as usual you navigated a ridiculously narrow, winding road to get us there. We look forward to our next trip with Wanderlust to England and Scotland in August 2022.

Peter and Trisha P., Chadds Ford, PA

 

Tours of London and Surrounding Cities, July 2021

Hugh, I want to thank you for a wonderful three-week set of trips all over London, Dover, Canterbury, Stonehenge, Bath, the gorgeous Cotswolds and Oxford. You started trip-planning for the five of us six months ago and we couldn’t have done it without you, especially since traveling during the COVID pandemic required significant adaptation. You crafted an itinerary including touring, boating, biking, walking, and picnicking and it was always ‘just right’. We certainly enjoyed the variety, the history, the culture, and the fun. We also felt pretty special having you and your comfortable car available for the entire trip. My entire family agrees that your efforts made our time in London memorable and it is very easy to recommend you and your services to other travelers.  Thank you for all of your efforts and we look forward to seeing you again.

John P., San Diego, CA

 

Scotland, October 2019

We would like to thank you for organizing a great trip that gave us a good overview of the different parts of Scotland.  Thank you also for all your efforts as I researched some family history too.  We would definitely suggest to anyone your company and appreciate all the attention to details and great communications along the way.  Hopefully we can get back sometime soon in the future. 

Brian L., Tennessee

Ireland, September 2019

We could not have been MORE pleased with all of our tour guides.  Gerry was lovely our first day, giving us a tour of Dublin including a castle and views around the city.  Eion could not have been more knowledgeable about Irish history and we learned so much from him and so enjoyed hearing the passion in his voice about his country.  John was a perfect tour guide for us.  We thoroughly enjoyed our time with him. We would highly recommend Wanderlust Tours in the future and hope to maybe “catch” another tour with your company in the future. 

Jean S.,  - Maine

England's West County, September 2019

Thank you so much for a truly wonderful trip in England's West Country. The Cornish coast was more beautiful and magical than I could have imagined, and the variety of experiences you provided gave this vacation dimensions we could never have found on our own. Thank you, too, for your patience with us, and all your insights, I will always treasure memories of this trip,

Kathy - Ohio

England's West County, September 2019

Thank you so very for the most unforgettable holiday of a life. Each experience was perfect and your guidance and expertise exceptional. 

Karen - Halifax, Canada

Scotland & Ireland, September 2019

Bill and I had a wonderful time touring Scotland and Ireland. Our guides were friendly, accommodating, very knowledgeable and excellent drivers!  The itinerary was fabulous and extremely well organized by your company.  Every part of the trip went smoothly; we never felt rushed and simply enjoyed the sightseeing, hikes and beautiful scenery. Our accommodations were excellent!  All the staff were very friendly and the meals were outstanding.  On the last day in Scotland, we even tried haggis which our guide, Kenny, highly recommended. 

Joyce Urone - California

Bath & the Cotswolds, Sept, 2019

DSC_1018.jpeg

Thank you for the wonderful, informative and stress free trip we shared with you while touring the lovely Cotswolds. We saw everything that we requested and more. Please know that if we plan a trip again, we will be traveling with you. Again, thank you for the good memories.

Karl and Beverli Badgley, Ohio

 

Chatsworth House, Wales & Cornwall, September 2019

Trisha and I wanted to drop you a line to formally thank you for making our recent 50th Wedding Anniversary Trip to England and Wales so special. Every aspect of our trip's planning and execution demonstrated your dedication to superior customer service. While the itinerary, accommodations and restaurant selections exceeded our expectations, it was your attention to every detail that stands out. It was a pleasure to just sit back and enjoy the experience without worrying about a thing. We also appreciated your flexibility and responsiveness in adjusting the itinerary or schedule. Of particular note was the addition of the “Drive Through” of Port Issac, where the Doc Martin TV Show is filmed.  We still can’t get over your sense of “can do” in taking your new Mercedes down the steep and very narrow roads just so we could have a special memory of this unique village.

Hugh, your interpersonal skills are exceptional. You demonstrated the ability to balance our often conflicting needs. Whether it was helping Trisha with her shopping or finding that interesting pub for a late afternoon pint for me, we both came away happy. In closing, this trip certainly convinced us of the merits of your full service private touring service and we hope to use your services on a future European trip. We have also told our friends of our great experience with Wanderlust Private Tours, so you might be getting some new business from the Philadelphia area.  Finally, please feel free to give our name as a reference for other potential clients.

Peter & Trisha Palmer, Philadelphia

Custom tour of Ireland, August 2019​

  • Our driver was great - Mick O’Malley. Very knowledgeable, professional and always ready with suggestions.  He was a wealth of knowledge- but you could tell so experienced- he knew where to contribute and when to let us do our own thing.  I would ask for him again tomorrow."

  • All the hotels were good. The Brooks hotel in Dublin was a perfect location.Very walkable. The private walking tour was Excellent. Our guide was a college history professor. - so good. Other people were standing around asking how to get his tour. As we told you Guinness was Exceptional.  Such a fun time”

  • All the restaurants recommended were amazing. I’d don’t think we had a bad meal the whole time!"

  • I believe everyone would say Greenmont in Dingle was their favorite hotel.  The weather was probably the worst there but they were so hospitable.  Danny - one of their staff was really helpful   Amazing views from the hotel and rooms were big"

  • The Hawk tour was amazing!  Even the dog sheep herding was interesting!  The Bushmills tour very good - especially the hot toddy.  "

  • Of course nothing can beat the Ireland countryside.  Just breathtaking !"

  • We did a lot of driving the last two days. I don’t know anyway to avoid it and do the things we wanted to do. Mick made it enjoyable with breaks where possible "

Private tour of 6 friends - North Carolina

Scotland, England & Ireland, July 2019

Photo with Cam.jpg

If we had all of the money in the world to purchase a vacation and had all of the time in the world to plan a vacation, we would not have traded it for the vacation that Hugh Barnes and his team at Wanderlust planned for us.  It was the absolute trip of a lifetime and one of the best parts of it is that since we were together for 2 weeks; Hugh and his team became like a part of the family.  The attention to details, the seamless transitions from place to place, the extra information, and the ability to make last minute changes as we went along are invaluable.  Hugh and his team took care of all the flights, all the meals, all the driving and coordination, and provided us with the leeway to tweak things as we went. All we had to do was to make sure that we had ourselves on a plane in Columbus, Ohio to start the trip and Hugh and his team took over from there.  We didn’t have to think or worry about anything; we just sat back and enjoyed our vacation.  Perfectly seamless.  On top of Hugh’s knowledge of the areas and sites that we visited; his connections and network of folks that are part of his team are amazing.  Private tour guides in each of the major cites that we visited were all set up for us.  The specific guides that Hugh uses have boundless energy and information about specific cities in England, Scotland, and Ireland!!  The hotels that he chose for us were amazing.  The restaurants that he chose for us were incredible.  We could not have scripted a better vacation and we cannot wait to book our next trip to the UK with Wanderlust!!  The decision is easy; there is no other company that we would even consider using again.  Hugh Barnes and his team at Wanderlust makes future decisions very easy; just call Hugh!! 

Ryan Hatfield and the Hatfield family - Ohio and Georgia

 

The Italian Lakes & Switzerland: Maggiore, Como, Swiss Alps & Lucerne, 2019

Recently my sisters and I went on a personally guided tour of the Italian Lakes and Switzerland with Hugh Barnes. Our 12 day trip was a wonderful journey to what has to be one of the most beautiful areas of the world. Hugh did an outstanding job as our guide,
and set up a great itinerary for us. From our first stop in Milan to Lake Maggiore, the Borromean Islands, Lake Como and then on to Switzerland, the trip was filled with gorgeous scenery, delicious food, great cultural experiences and outstanding accommodations. Hugh was kind, thoughtful and patient. We always  felt well taken care of and he made sure we got the most out of our amazing trip. It was an incredible experience and we can’t recommend him highly enough!

Rita Bernier -Massachusetts 

London & Cotswold Garden Tour, June 2019

Thank you so much for taking such good care of us and being so attentive to our needs, including wine when needed! Our trip in London and through the Cotswolds was everything we were hoping for and more. We hope to travel with you again soon.

Leah, Gail and Tricia -California

 

Scotland, June 2019

Thank you for a wonderful experience touring the Highlands of Scotland. We appreciate your care and dedication to making this a very memorable adventure for each of us.

Geri, Bonnie & Doug - Saskatchewan, Canada

Scotland & Ireland, June 2019

We enjoyed our trip with you very much, and in Ireland Thomas was fabulous. He went out of his way to ensure we saw as much as possible in a timely manner. It was great that you were able to accommodate us. We too hope that we will have another opportunity to travel with you if the stars align. Take care and thanks again for looking after us so well.

Peter and Janice - Saskatchewan, Canada

Kent & East Sussex, June 2019

Sandi and I were very pleased with our trip and are very appreciative of your assistance. You did a splendid job of helping us have a wonderful time!

Jim and Sandi -Tennessee

Customized tour of Scotland & England, May 2019

Our Wanderlust tour of Scotland and England for a group of 6 left us with many wonderful memories ! Hugh Barnes was easy to work with and responded quickly to inquiries and suggestions. He created an interesting and enjoyable itinerary and provided ongoing support during the tour. Neil, our driver/guide was knowledgeable and conscientious, always there when we needed him. His efforts kept the tour flowing smoothly. The sites we visited gave us a wonderful overview that made us want to return and explore both countries more extensively. We felt as though we experienced all the highlights that Hugh could squeeze into two weeks. 

Accommodations were unique and of high quality. The cuisine was excellent. The local guides were very knowledgeable and shared the history and culture in an interesting and entertaining manner. Overall, our party had a GREAT time. We highly recommend Wanderlust Private Tours for a trip of a lifetime! Five stars!

Steve and Susan - Mogadore, Ohio

The Italian Lakes & Switzerland: Maggiore, Como, Swiss Alps & Lucerne, May 2019

We did make it safely home. We had a wonderful, memorable trip and are so grateful to you for all you did to make it so special. All the extra features – like the special chefs dinner, seeing the Last Supper, our trips on the private boats to the islands and that wonderful trip to Lake Lucerne are only a few of the great adventures we had. We hope you made it safely home too and can get some rest before your next trip. Thanks again Hugh for a wonderful time – we were so looking forward to the trip and we were not disappointed – it exceeded our expectations. What wonderful memories of Italy and Switzerland we will have.

Rita, Louise, Anne, Marie & Kathy - Massachusetts

Grand Tour of Ireland & Scotland, May 2019

My family and I have been discussing going to Ireland and Scotland for several years and my brother in law heard about Hugh and Wanderlust’s private tours.  We had 8 of us and to get everyone on the same itinerary I thought would be difficult but Hugh’s itinerary was perfect for us to explore a large part of both countries.  It was so simple and easy to have all of the accommodations, tour guides, tour tickets, and transportation needs taken care of for us.  The tour companies/guides were wonderful and accommodating to our needs.   The lodging was perfect in that the beds were comfortable, in a walkable location to city centers mostly, with delicious breakfasts. It will be a memorable trip for me and I wanted to thank Hugh and his team for their efforts.

Jennifer - Hickory, North Carolina

 

Customized tour of Ireland, May 2019

This, my sixth trip to Ireland, was the best possible experience for my family.  Always before I had been an independent traveler, but, growing older, I decided on a tour.  I am so happy that I chose Hugh and Wanderlust Private Tours.  From the planning to the execution all was excellent!  The hotel choices were great, the package included gourmet meals, and the driver, John, became family.  Hugh helped my daughter plan for my wife and I to renew our vows at Abbeyglen Castle and it was glorious, with a gourmet meal after.  If you want a tailor made adventure, I highly recommend Wanderlust Private Tours.

Reg Keogh - Sulphur, Louisiana

 

South West England, Oxford & London, April 2019

Our Wanderlust tour was like traveling with family friends. Hugh worked with us to create a personalized itinerary that included everything we wanted to see plus much more along the way.  He found amazing sites which we would never have discovered on our own. At each stop we could spend as much or as little time as we chose, and every detail was anticipated. Before we finished our first tour, we were already planning for our next Wanderlust adventure and we are excited to see what Hugh plans for us next!

Edward, Lisa & Daria - Saskatoon, Canada

Customized tour of Scotland, March 2019

We took a 5-day tour all through Scotland with Hamish and Kenny, and could not be more happy with the trip! There were 7 of us, which required two (very clean and immaculate) vehicles, and absolutely everything was executed perfectly. Both Kenny and Hamish are extremely knowledgeable, patient, and flexible - which was made clear through our millions of questions and changes to the itineraries. Organizing the wants & wishes of 7 different people is no easy feat, but they both got it done smoothly and professionally. Both proud, Scottish gentlemen, we could not have asked for better guides. We had one last day in Scotland after they left us, and we spent most of the time talking about how we wished they were still around! You absolutely cannot go wrong with them, and we can't thank them enough for such a wonderful trip!

Elizabeth - Boston, MA

Customized Luxury tour of Scotland, March 2019

I read the reviews on Wanderlust’s website and crossed my fingers that our trip would live up to the same standards.  Our experience proved to be nothing shy of excellent!  We asked for luxury accommodations, outstanding cuisine, bespoke cooking class, breathtaking hikes, the right amount of history, flexible itinerary and competent driver in a safe SUV.  Hugh you delivered on all accounts. Thank you for executing a trip of a lifetime. Look forward to the next one.  

Kim & Britt - Toronto, Canada

 

South West England with Oxford & Stonehenge, 2018

My husband and I received an amazing private tour of Sacred England that was hands down our "Best Vacation Ever!". Thank you so very much to Hugh Barnes! 

Our vacation itinerary was perfectly suited for us, everyday was an absolute perfect amount of activity and sightseeing /tours. All of the guides arranged for us were extremely knowledgeable and professional and very courteous. 

The beautiful sights we saw, and the Manors we got to stay in were breathtaking! And the food....DELICIOUS!  So very excited we found Hugh and can't wait to book our next trip. Thank you again.

Tiffany and Michael - California

 

Sweden & Denmark, 2018

We are Wanderlust repeat customers having toured Ireland and Scotland last year with them. We wanted to take our kids to the “old country “- Sweden and Denmark. I wanted to see where my ancestors came from. Hugh, being Danish himself, arranged for a great trip. We saw the big cities and experienced the country life. Hugh even arranged for the Queen of Denmark to greet us in Svendborg!  It was actually a coincidence and involved a wave from afar from the royal yacht but Hugh really is that good!  We highly recommend Wanderlust Private Tours. We love Hugh (and his wife Margaux). Can’t wait for our next trip. 

Julie, Kurt, Alec, Alex and Sydney - Des Moines, Iowa

Italy Discovery

The trip was fabulous! Your personnel were absolutely wonderful. The guides assigned were both tremendously knowledgeable and very personable.  I would even say that the drivers were first rate. They all made the trip that much more enjoyable. We saw everything we wanted to. Our guides all followed our wishes and modified the itinerary on the fly when we started to slow down. I would highly recommend your agency.

Earl and Rita  - Massachusetts

Berlin, 2018

We all had a wonderful time in Berlin. We were thrilled with the hotel, it had everything we needed. Your guide and driver were perfect. Mikael the driver, was kind, thoughtful and made himself available to drive whenever needed.

McAllister family- Utah

Ireland, 2018

Hello Hugh

At long last I am following up with you on our Ireland Trip which, despite my being sidelined for some of the trip, was wonderful.  I cannot say enough about the work you did in making so many arrangements that flowed flawlessly.  I became ill pretty much from the time we landed but was able to participate in most of the planned adventures.   

I want to single out the young man that took us on the walking tour of Dublin for an excellent job.  However the highest accolades go to the primary driver Richard who was truly excellent. Again Hugh, thank you again for putting together this wonderful trip and we certainly will turn to you should we return to Ireland some day.

Family of 15, MA

Ireland, 2018

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip. We loved Ireland and the people of Ireland. Jim, our driver, worked out really well and fitted with our group easily. I want to thank you for arranging everything for us. Made life easy for me and the group. Bottom line - we love Ireland and loved our trip!

Family of 9, Canada

Scotland & Ireland, 2018

Hugh, great trip all around, very positive. James, Ireland side, is an excellent guide and very knowledgeable and personable. Our guide in Dublin, Brian was also very good, extremely knowledgeable and detailed. Quite a thorough history of Ireland. We had a wonderful vacation, only wish we had more time.

Jeff, Virginia

England & Scotland, 2018

Thank you so much for exceeding every single expectation that we had for the Baltier England/Scotland trip. They were crazy about you and I couldn't be happier. You Rock!

Saralynn, Memphis

 

Scotland & London & Wimbledon, 2018

Thanks for putting together such an electric tour! We greatly enjoyed our time with you in Scotland & England!

Kathy, Ron, Brian and Angie, Des Moines, Iowa

 

Ireland, 2018

As with our first week, the second in Ireland was really wonderful.  Our driver, James was very knowledgeable on Ireland’s history, customs, and traditions, and did a superb job infusing them in us without overwhelming us. James really made it special.  Ballinalacken Castle was also superb, and the food was really a high point. Thanks Hugh!

Bob, Florida

London, Norfolk & Netherlands, 2018

I wanted to be sure to thank you for your work in putting our trip together. All went very smoothly and for me it was the trip of a lifetime and I’m sure the others feel the same. We will definitely keep in touch when planning our next trip.

Dewey, Florida

London, Norfolk & Netherlands, 2018

Everything was perfect on the military trip.  You did an outstanding job in coordinating everyone and planning the trip.  I'm sure it must have been challenging at times!

Val and Family, Florida

Scotland, Lake District, Cotswolds & London, 2018

Thanks again for accompanying us on a wonderful vacation.  We really appreciated the personal attention and individualized itinerary.  I hope your enjoy your 2 weeks off (or at least time home). You've earned it.  

Bruce and Family, Utah

England & Scotland Custom Tour, 2018

Hugh, I wanted to thank you again for the wonderful tour and trip you did for our family! You were beyond great and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you also for putting up with us and our family’s idiosyncrasies! I would recommend you and your company to everyone we know. I know that Kevin and I will definitely be using you again in the future. We would love to meet up with you and your family when your daughter comes to school down here in the fall. We can introduce you all to Memphis Barbecue! Thanks again!

Rhonda, Memphis

England & Scotland Custom Tour, 2018

Hugh, I hope you had a nice birthday yesterday! Jim and I would like to thank you once again for the  wonderful trip you organized for us. We had a great time! Please stay in touch as you are now part of the family! We all have guest rooms and when you bring your daughter to Ole Miss, we would love to see you. Hope your present tour has started out well. Take care!

Carole and Jim, Memphis

Scotland, England & London Custom Tour, 2018

Thanks again for accompanying us on a wonderful vacation.  I appreciated the personal attention and individualized itinerary.  I hope your enjoy your 2 weeks off (or at least time home). You've earned it. Many thanks again.

Bruce and Reva, Utah

Ireland and Scotland, 2018

It was a superb trip; well arranged and Neil and the local experts were excellent. We would certainly recommend you!

Richard C., Florida

 

Scottish Castles & Palaces, 2018

Hello Hugh, Back home in Ottawa for me and Amy is on her way to Florida. The trip was fantastic. Hamish was a great guide. He is very responsible and well versed in all things Scottish. We loved Scotland. Thanks for arranging a great trip.

Israel, Jordan & Egypt, 2018

We couldn’t be any happier with the trip you so meticulously orchestrated AND spending 3 weeks with you!  It was truly a trip of a lifetime, with the added bonus of getting to
know you in the process. Thank you can’t begin to cover our feelings but for now, it’s just a start.  With warm gratitude.

Sarah and Chip, Los Angeles

London, Cotswolds, Bath & Oxford, 2017

We want to thank you so much for an amazing magical trip. It was better than we ever could have hoped for. We will have such wonderful memories of all those lovely Cotswolds towns as well as London, Oxford, Bath and our trip to Wales.

You chose top notch places to stay, things to see and places to stay. We very appreciate all the efforts you put into making this such a wonderful trip for us.

Thank you so much for being so thoughtful and considerate. We had a wonderful time!

Rita B., Louise M., Anne Z., Marie Q., Kathy B., - Massachusetts

Yorkshire, Lake District, Cotswolds & Bath, 2017 

This was a trip we had thought about for a long time but couldn't imagine how to manage it. You put together a wonderful itinerary and made everything easy. Thank you for your wonderful service! We will happily recommend you to our family and friends!"

Ellen and Kim P. - New York

 

London, Cotswolds, Bath & Oxford, 2017

Thank you so much for sending the final itinerary and all the photos that you took. You really are very efficient – I'm very impressed. It's nice to have some photos of the five of us together – that was the first trip we all took together and it's going to be a wonderful lifetime memory.

I have been spreading the word to anyone who has asked me about how very, very wonderful the trip was. I can't think of anything you could have done to make it any better for us. Your kindness, patience, and consideration of us was exceptional. We will never forget it and an extra bonus was meeting your beautiful daughters.

Our trip to beautiful England was such a wonderful experience for all of us. Thank you, thank you, thank you again.

Rita B. - Massachusetts

Heart of Scotland, 2017 

I just wanted to thank you and your team for creating such a fantastic trip for our group. We had a wonderful time and can't say enough great things about Wanderlust. Thank you. We are already looking forward to next year's trip with you!

James H. - CALIFORNIA

London, Cotswolds, Bath & Oxford, 2017

Thanks for the pics and best memories.  My children have been calling for a report and they all ask "what was the highlight?"  I started to describe the Feathered Nest tea but I stopped and said Hugh was the highlight.  Your company, information, planning and extra-strength consideration was most appreciated (and we are pretty fussy).  It was an EXCELLENT trip!!!

Louise M. - Massachusetts

The West Country: Cornwall, Dorset & Devon, 2017

It is rare in this life to encounter "a stranger" who enters your life and provides a remarkable period of complete enjoyment and pleasure over more than a week's time....But, indeed, you have done so for Susan and me. Your dedication to our needs, your expert knowledge and your calm, pleasant personality all combined to make our "SW England" tour an unmitigated delight - and provided a series of memories we will long cherish.

Don I., Susan I. - Virginia

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland, 2017

For me, our trip to Scotland and Ireland couldn't have been better. Your careful research and planning made for a full, yet relaxing and absolutely delightful trip. We saw so many sights and beautiful natural landscape. I felt like we had all the time we wanted at each stop, were able to leave when we were done, and had flexibility to make extra stops. How refreshing compared to large group tours! And I felt safe at all times with your driving and with Noel in Ireland. Both of you made wonderful company without feeling at all intrusive. 

The accommodations were just beautiful! Elegant, comfortable and relaxing, great service. The excellent food, choices, presentation and sevice were all just amazing. Looking back, I realize that, while we were busy and active all day, we weren't too exhausted to enjoy those fantastic dinners. I'm sure your traveling experience and planning, along with us being able to relax while we were driven, made that possible.

Thank you so much! I enthusiastically  recommend Wanderlust tours.

Best wishes to you, Hugh. Cheers!

Cynthia H., Tom H. - Wisconsin

 

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland 

You are a true professional. We so enjoyed your company! Noel was a very nice addition to your crew.  He was knowledgeable about the area and was most pleasant. We all agreed that it was one of the nicest trips we've ever taken.

The accommodations were excellent, well appointed and quintessentially European.  The food was great too. Everything was well researched. We all felt that our itinerary contained a nice mix of sightseeing and history.  Our guide in Dublin, Alexander,

was very knowledgeable and had a knack for making its history interesting. Having driver/guides made the trip extra relaxing. The walking tour of Edinburgh gave all of us good insight into a wonderful city. We will relive many moments in our minds for a long time.

Kurt K., Julie K. - Iowa

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland, 2017

Amazing trip! Our group of five are already planning our next trip with Wanderlust. Everything was handled so expertly and professionally, from the minute we booked to the trip itself.

Mary T., Chuck T., - California

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland, 2017

Great trip...can't say enough about Wanderlust. Their professionalism and service is top notch. Highly recommend them.

John A. Suzanne A., - Massachusetts 

Provence, France, 2017 

Wanderlust created a custom tour for our wine group to France (party of 8). We couldn't have had a better trip. We loved everything about the tour: the food, wine, culture, history, hotels...everything!

Jordan M. - Connecticut

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland, 2017

Our Wanderlust Scotland and Ireland trip for our family of four was by far the best tour we have ever been on. We had a lot of questions before we booked and Hugh was so proactive in addressing all our requirements. We loved everything about our trip and our planning our next adventure with Wanderlust.

Sarah Z. - Virginia

From York to Edinburgh, 2017

This was a part of Great Britain we had never explored, you made it an incredible trip for us. 

Eileen J., John., - Maine

Northumbria, The Lake District & Yorkshire, 2017

Fantastic trip! The personal service we received was five stars. We loved our guides, the food, the accommodation, the sights....it was wonderful. Thank you, Hugh, for such an amazing trip!

Frederick W., Brenda., - Florida

London, Cotswolds, Bath & Oxford, 2017

We had an amazing trip to England with Wanderlust. The accommodation was luxurious and lovely. The guides were so knowledgeable and we learned so much about England and the area. The food was delicious! The personal attention we received from time of booking to the trip was the best we have received!

Donna S. - Florida

Discover Scotland, 2017

The scenery of Scotland was breathtaking! Your attention to detail and service made our trip even better. Loved it!

Bob. S - Florida

Discover Ireland, 2017

What a fantastic tour! We loved every minute of it and felt like kings and queens with the impeccable service you gave us. Thank you!

Dennis M., Sheila M.' - Massachusetts

Grand Tour of Scotland & Ireland, 2017

Such a great trip! Loved that we were able to see the best of Scotland and also Ireland. I can't thank you enough for taking such great care of our group. All the little extras and details could not have happened on one of those cookie-cutter tour groups. You were the best guide ever and we loved our trip. Can't wait to plan next year with you!

Terri. W - Virginia

bottom of page